OREGON DRUG INTERVENTION PLAN

ARREST OR
CITATION FOR
POSSESSION OF A
CONTROLLED
SUBSTANCE

NO BOOKING: Citation in Lieu of Arrest*

*most common path for low level misdemeanors **DEFLECTION**

Law enforcement makes a direct referral for a connection with a treatment provider.

LOCAL BUY-IN

23 Counties representing 84% of Oregonians already participating

ARRAIGNMENT

COURT

Pre-Plea/

Pre-Trial

NO CHARGES FILED
NO CRIMINAL RECORD
NO PUBLIC DEFENDER NEEDED

If Conditional
Discharge is
Unsuccessful

CONDITIONAL
DISCHARGE
MUST BE OFFERED

Probation of up to 12 Months.

+ No Jail Time

+ Connection to **Treatment**

Charges Dismissed and Records Sealed

(within 90 days of successful completion and dismissal)

If Probation is Violated

PLEA OR TRIAL SENTENCE: PROBATION

Up to 18 Months
Probation

- + No Jail Time
- + Connection to **Treatment**
- + No Fines or Fees

Automatic Expungement

(within 90 days of successful completion)

More
Probation
Violations

PROBATION VIOLATION SANCTION

Up to 30 days of **treatment**, community service, or jail

Automatic Expungement
(within 90 days of successful
completion)

ons

Up to 180 Days Jail Early Release to in or out patient **treatment**

PROBATION

REVOKED

Automatic Expungement (within 3 years)

PREVENTION

The Oregon Drug Intervention Plan invests in **treatment, housing, and prevention** to solve the root causes of addiction and reduce the need for emergency law enforcement intervention.